First Room Makeover in New House

We’ve been in the new (to us) house for 9 days. We’ve mainly been focusing on unpacking and finding a place for everything. We’ve also needed to focus on a few technical issues like adding a garage door opener and getting the washing machine fixed. The fridge decided it didn’t want to make ice anymore and the upstairs toilet won’t stop running so those are more things we’ve added to the “need to look in to” list.

We have our first guest staying with us this weekend so one of the first things I needed to do is get the guest bedroom ready. We didn’t have the movers assemble the guest bed because we thought it would be easier to paint an empty room and then assemble the bed and move the furniture in so there wouldn’t have been a place for her to sleep if I didn’t take the time to do this.

The guest bedroom was a darker baby blue color.

I found two gallons of Swiss Coffee by Benjamin Moore last year at Ace Hardware on sale for $1 each. I guess what happens is that a costumer will order the paint and then change their mind so Ace is left with paint that they put on a shelf in a sale section. I call it the reject paint section. I used a gallon last year to paint wood paneling in our basement at the old house and then I saved the other gallon for later.

Since I already had that $1 gallon of paint, I decided that’s what I would paint the bedroom since it would save me money and a trip to the store. I also like the idea of painting the walls in the new house lighter than what we had picked out for the old house when we moved there 12 years ago. Just going with something different and fresh.

It took 3 coats and two gallons of paint (one I already had, one I had to buy) to cover everything. Then I installed new white panel curtains and a new curtain rod. I used the same bedding and furniture we used in the guest bedroom at the old house. So, this wasn’t a very expensive makeover since I only spent money on curtains, curtain rod, a gallon of paint, and paint supplies (roller, brush).

I wasn’t sure if I would like the white curtains with the lighter walls but I thought everything looked great once the whole room was put together. I think it has a cozy, clean, and tranquil feel to it.

I think the dog thinks it’s his.

This isn’t the full renovation. Eventually we will replace the trim, baseboards, and doors. The closet doors really need replaced because one falls of the track every time I move it. We’ll get there!

Please leave a comment.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

All That We Perceive

In Vivid Flowing Dreams

J. Lorenzin

Painting the World with Colorful Words and Enticing Rhythm

Life as Louise

a book blog

The Mint Thief

Herbs & Spices Rock My World

A Wandering Memory

Sharing the Beauty, Mystery & Adventure of Travel

Earth laughs in flowers

Passionate about Gardens and Flower Photography

Savvy Chic Avenue

Savvy Chic Avenue is your blog source for fashion, weddings, DIY, social events, cooking and all things Savvy and Chic!

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

Texas Craft House

blood, sweat, and glitter y'all

Honeysuckle Delight

Fun & Easy Crafts

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

farm sweet home

Growing grass, weeds, and children

cooking from the heart

inspired by june & norma

What To Have For Dinner Tonight

Simple and delicious dinner inspiration

redeemedrenewed.wordpress.com/

Wood Signs and Home Decor

Ultratwist Vintage

true vintage & vintage inspired