“The Best” Chocolate Chip Cookies

A few weeks ago my neighbor made chocolate chip cookies and even though I am trying to cut back on sweets, I ate two of them because they were so good! I asked if they were homemade and she said yes, it’s her grandmother’s recipe. She took a picture of the recipe card and sent it to me so I can make them myself.

The recipe card has “Best Choc. Chip Cookies” written at the top and the word “Best” is circled. The recipe card calls for 1 cup, or two sticks, or margarine but my neighbor said she makes hers with 1 stick of butter and 1stick of margarine so that’s what I did.

Here is the recipe:

1 stick margarine, softened
1 stick butter, softened
1/3 cup crisco or other shortening
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup granulated/white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 1/3 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
12 ounces of chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degree F (163 C). Combine the margarine, butter, crisco, sugars, vanilla, and eggs and mix together until smooth. I used a stand mixer. Then add flour, salt, and baking soda and mix until just combined. Then stir in chocolate chips (I stirred them in by hand).

I rolled my dough in to balls and placed them on an ungreased cookie sheet. The recipe card says to cook for 9.5 minutes but I had to cook mine for 19 minutes. I don’t know if my oven is acting up or if the recipe author liked her cookies under cooked, or if there is a large altitude difference me and the recipe author. But 19 minutes was perfect in my opinion.

They turned out great and I’ll definitely make them again. The recipe card says this makes about 4 dozen cookies but I formed my cookies a little larger so this results in ~36 cookies for me.

I really like these because they are soft on the inside and slightly crisp on the outside.

If you decide to give this recipe a try, let me know how you like it!

Please leave a comment.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

All That We Perceive

In Vivid Flowing Dreams

J. Lorenzin

Painting the World with Colorful Words and Enticing Rhythm

Life as Louise

a book blog

The Mint Thief

Herbs & Spices Rock My World

A Wandering Memory

Sharing the Beauty, Mystery & Adventure of Travel

Earth laughs in flowers

Passionate about Gardens and Flower Photography

Savvy Chic Avenue

Savvy Chic Avenue is your blog source for fashion, weddings, DIY, social events, cooking and all things Savvy and Chic!

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

Texas Craft House

blood, sweat, and glitter y'all

Honeysuckle Delight

Fun & Easy Crafts

Geekgalz

wedding photographer and scrapper

farm sweet home

Growing grass, weeds, and children

cooking from the heart

inspired by june & norma

What To Have For Dinner Tonight

Simple and delicious dinner inspiration

redeemedrenewed.wordpress.com/

Wood Signs and Home Decor

Ultratwist Vintage

true vintage & vintage inspired