Annie Sloan Chalk Paint

I bought and used Annie Sloan Chalk Paint today.  If you haven’t heard of chalk paint, it’s paint that goes on easily and leaves a matte finish.  It’s mostly used for furniture, but it can be used for just about anything, including walls and floors.  Annie Sloan also makes clear and dark wax, which gives the piece additional character and a protective finish.

Today I painted a desk the chalk paint color florence.  First, let me share the history of this desk.  My parents bought it for my sister when we were teenagers.  I think they got it at Walmart or Target.  When we moved out of our parents’ house, she gave it to me because she no longer used it.  Up until last year, I had it down in my basement and I was using it as a TV stand.  Here’s a picture:

IMG_1183About a year ago, I had some latex paint left over from a different project, so I painted the desk and put it in our guest bedroom.

IMG_4066I thought it looked better than it did before, but it still didn’t have a lot of character and I wanted a bolder color.  So, I decided to try again.  Here’s what it looks like now after the chalk paint.

IMG_4078Slide1BA_1I am very pleased with the results.  I love how the dark wax creates an antique/rustic look. Now I just need to figure out where I’m going to put it.

Please leave a comment.

