Self-Portraits: Awkward and Difficult

Soooo… I was sitting around the house this afternoon with nothing to do.  I decided it would be an awesome time to try to take a self portrait.  After all, I’ve seen plenty of really cool self portraits on blogs and flickr, so it can’t be that difficult, right?  Wrong.

I probably wasn’t using the right lens for this.  I desperately wanted to use my 50mm f/1.4, but it doesn’t do so well on autofocus.  Trying to pose, manually focus, and stay in the frame all at the same time is difficult.  Wanna see my attempts?  Be kind.

IMG_3149

My first try. Fail!

Hey, it's in focus!  Now we're getting somewhere.

Hey, it’s in focus! Now we’re getting somewhere.

My attempt at an artsy photo.  Is anything in focus?

My attempt at an artsy photo. Is anything in focus?

EYEBALLS!

EYEBALLS!

What's going on here?  I'm scared.

What’s going on here? I’m scared.

"Focus to Lindsey.  Come in, Lindsey"

“Focus to Lindsey. Come in, Lindsey”

The cat wanted in the picture! (not really)

The cat wanted in the picture! (not really)

So that’s it, folks.  Better luck next time, I hope.

4 thoughts on “Self-Portraits: Awkward and Difficult

  1. Well … I like the eyeballs one. 🙂 I can’t take a selfie worth a damn, especially not with my phone. Distance between me and the lens is my friend. 😉

  2. Your cat looks like my Princess 🙂 Wonderful experiment about self portrait, but I loved the best with your cat 🙂 Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, to you both, love, nia

Please leave a comment.

