Kitchen Gets a Facelift

When we moved in to our house about a year and a half ago, I thought that the kitchen was the only room that didn’t need painted.  And then I changed my mind.  I realized a few months ago that everything in our kitchen was the same color.  The floors were the same color as the cabinets, the trim, the walls and the counter tops.  Monochrome was what that room was.   Don’t get me wrong – it’s an awesome kitchen; it just needed a few minor upgrades.

I was also unhappy with the way I had decorated it.   The decorations I used were a hodgepodge of things from my college apartment.  A clock that didn’t work anymore; a tiny picture that I bought years ago that I no longer liked.  It all had to go.  And I wanted a paint color that a.) wasn’t brown or beige like everything else in the kitchen and b.) within the same color family as the color in the dining room so that the two rooms flowed better.

Slide1

You can see where I painted samples trying to decide on a color.

You can see where I painted samples trying to decide on a color.

There's not much of a difference here except the change in wall color above the cabinets.

There’s not much of a difference here except the change in wall color above the cabinets.

I used my own prints from when I went to the greenhouse.  I’m really happy with how they look.
IMG_2534Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Kitchen Gets a Facelift

Please leave a comment.

