I Heart Photography

I’m a photography newbie!  I’ve been at it for about 4 months and prior to that I had no experience.  I have been saying for years that I wanted to give photography a try because I thought it was something I may enjoy.  My husband unexpectedly bought me a DSLR camera (Canon Rebel t3i) for my birthday.   I was super excited but also a little overwhelmed (how do I use this thing?!).   The first 50 or so photos I took were only okay.  At first I wasn’t sure what to take pictures of or even what to look for.  The more I get out there and take pictures, the easier it’s becoming to spot good or unique shots and I’m finding that I absolutely love photography.   Even if I’m no good.  Even if no one ever looks at my shots.  I love it anyway.

I’ve also realized that taking the picture is only the first step to a great photo.  Ansel Adams once said, “You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”  I can’t agree with this more.  I took several pictures on Friday and some that I thought weren’t going to work ended up looking pretty good after I did some cropping and editing.  Take the below picture for example.

Original photo before editing

After editing

I did not think I was going to get anything out of this picture so I’m happy I was able to make it work with some cropping and by adding a gradient map.

I’m excited to get back out there, practice more, and learn as much as I can!

3 thoughts on “I Heart Photography

  1. Congrats on the new camera, and your future adventures as a photographer. It can be a very rewarding hobby, thats for sure. I like that you mentioned that ‘even if no one looks at your photos, you love them anyway’ that’s a great attitude to have. You should always photograph for your own interests first, then attempt to please your audience.

    Cheers and happy shooting,
    Jeff

Please leave a comment.

