Dining Table Makeover

When I moved in to my college apartment, I bought a cheap $100 dining table to eat and do homework on.  Years later I’m married and own my own home, and that dining table is still around.   It had survived a few moves and had quite a few scratches and gouges on it.  My husband and I agreed we didn’t want to spend the money right now to replace it, so I decided to refinish the wood with a darker stain and reupholster the chairs.

Here is a picture of the table before:

It had a cheap look to it (probably because it was cheap) and I was surprised to find a really pretty wood grain after I had sanded the finish off.  Here is the table after:

I applied 3 coats of Winwax Red Mahogany and 3 coats of Winwax Polycrylic Protective Finish in satin. The chairs were covered in Cross Section in Charcoal by Waverly.

I’m really pleased with the results.  I think it makes our table look more expensive than what it actually is.  Here is a breakdown of the price of this project:

  • 1 8oz. can Winwax Red Mahogany stain: $4.38
  • 1 8oz. can Winwax Polycrylic Protective Finish: $8.98
  • sandpaper: $7.00
  • 2 yards of Cross Section in Charcoal by Waverly: $28
    Project total: $48.36

Now that’s finished, I can update the “to do” list for the dining room:

  • paint walls
  • replace outlet plates
  • refinish table
  • replace the carpet with hardwood floors
  • knock down some of the wall between the dining room and kitchen to create a bar
  • replace the ceiling fan (this will be the topic of an upcoming post)
  • add a china cabinet (this will also be the topic of an upcoming post)
  • purchase and hang additional wall art

Stay tuned!

Please leave a comment.

